Study your flashcards anywhere!

Download the official Cram app for free >

  • Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

9 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
4 characteristics of land plants
(1)waxy cuticle on aerial plants
(2)stomata facilitate gas exchange
(3)gametangia-multicellular sex organ
(4)fertilized egg develops into an embryo
Alternation of generations
gametophyte phase-haploid
sporophyte phase-diploid
strengthening polymer in the cell walls of cells that function for support and conduction.
hairlike absorbitive structures in mosses
life cycle of mosses
(1)moss plant bears its gametangia on top of the plant
(2)fertilization occurs when sperm cells fuse with the egg in the archegonium via water.
(3)the zygote grows by mitosis into an embryo
(4)the embryo develops into a mature moss sporophyte. sporophyte grows out on top of the gametophyte. the "capsule" contains sporogenous cells.
(5) sporogenous cells undergo meiosis to form haploid spores. the capsule opens and releases the spores.
(6) when a moss spore germinates it grows into a "protonema". This buds, each of which grows into a gametophyte.

haploid phase is dominant
2 basic types of leaves
microphyll: single vascular strand. evolved from stem tissue (enations).

megaphyll: evolved from stem branches.
dichotomously branching stems
stem has 2 branches of = size.
life cycle of ferns
(1) fern sporophyte consists of underground stem (rhizome) that bears leaves called "fronds". spores are produced on areas of the fronds which develop sporangia. clusters of sporangia are called "Sori"
(2)sporogenous cells undergo meiosis to form haploid spores.
(3) the sporangia open and free spores that grow by mitosis into gametophytes.
(4)the gametophyte or "prothallus" produces antheridium and archegonium
(5)zygote grows by mitosis into an embryo. the prothallus dies.

sporophyte phase is dominant
2 different types of spores: microspores and megaspores.